Life’s Glorious Mundanities

 

A lot of people when dreaming of retirement think it’s going to be like one long extended vacation.  I know I did.  Long idyllic days away from all your troubles and cares – with maid service.  It’s kind of like my life long quest to make my personal bed like that 5-star hotel bed that always feels so heavenly.  After years of trying every sheet, comforter and pillow on the market – I finally figured it out – it’s not the linens – it’s the maid service that’s missing.

So unless your retirement comes with a maid and a butler – mine did not – it is not quite like vacation.

Let’s be honest – retirement is still great.  Much better than working.  But if you were annoyed by taking out the trash, making your bed or brushing your teeth everyday – you’re still going to be annoyed by these things. Even if your retirement vision is to live on a tent in the middle of the forest – you’re still going to have to put up the tent, keep the bugs out of it and brush your teeth everyday.

Retirement is still life with all of life’s glorious mundanities.

I’m not sure why I originally thought retirement didn’t include these things.  Perhaps it was that Chase bank commercial with the hipster retirees and their micro mini pig out for a walk to Shaggy’s Bombastic and a voice over by The Good Wife’s Julianna Margulies.  They’ve mastered living their lives the way they want and they are mastering retirement just the same.

I do love that commercial! See for yourself: Master Life

Well what happens if you didn’t master living your life the way you want before your retirement?  Are you screwed???  Never to be able to walk confidently in the park with a micro mini pig???  Well – that’s what I’ve come to believe retirement is all about – even with all of life’s mundanities – time to master living your life the way you want.  Eh – I’ll make the bed tomorrow.

Live the life you have imagined

~Colleen

Leave a comment